Faculty

Cynthia Cready

Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director (PhD 2002 Texas A&M)

Office: 302C Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-369-8791
cready@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: quantitative methods, long-term care of the aged, inequality, family, migration

Nicole Dash

Associate Professor & Associate Dean of PACS (PhD 2002 Florida International)

Office: Chilton 209
Phone: 940-565-2230
dash@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: sociology of disasters

Susan Eve

Professor of Sociology & Associate Dean of Honors College (PhD 1977 UNC-Chapel Hill)

Office: Chilton Hall, Room No.: 211
Phone: 940-565-4914
susan.eve@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: health and aging

Gabe Ignatow

Associate Professor (PhD 2003 Stanford)

Office: 390E Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-565-3616
ignatow@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: text analysis methods, sociological theory, globalization

Erma Lawson

Associate Professor (PhD 1990 University of Kentucky)

Office: 390J Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-369-7473
elawson@scs.unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: medical sociology

Ami Moore

Associate Professor (PhD 2000 Bowling Green State University)

Office: 390G Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-565-4267
amoore@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: social demography, family, HIV/AIDS, African immigrants in the United States

Helen Potts

Lecturer (PhD 2007 University of North Texas)

Office: Chilton
Phone: 940-565-7801
Helen.Potts@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: social capital, organizations and the workplace, social statistics and methods, alternative dispute resolution/mediation

Dan Rodeheaver

Department Chair and Associate Professor (PhD 1990 University of Georgia)

Office: 390A Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-565-2285
rodeheaver@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: sociopolitical ecology, development and social change, theory, crime, terrorism

Rudy Seward

Emeritus Professor (PhD 1974 Southern Illinois University)

Office: 390B Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-565-2295
rudy.seward@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: work and family, fathers, childhood and adolescence

Michael F. Thompson

Assistant Professor (PhD 2011 Indiana University)

Office: Chilton 390C
Phone: 940-565-4880
MFThompson@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: economic sociology, labor and workforce development, political sociology, stratification/mobility

Mark Wardell

Dean of Toulouse Graduate School, Professor (PhD University of Missouri - Columbia)

Phone: 940-565-2494
Mark.Wardell@unt.edu

David Williamson

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director (PhD 1993 Vanderbilt)

Office: 397G Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-565-2215
david.williamson@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: medical sociology, development, Africa

George Yancey

Professor (PhD 1994 University of Texas at Austin)

Office: 397F Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-565-2296
gyancey@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
» Website
Research Interests: Christian studies, science, knowledge, religion, race relations, interracial unions, multiracial churches,

Dale Yeatts

Professor (PhD 1984 University of Virginia)

Office: 392 Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-565-2238
yeatts@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: sustainable community development, social gerontology, self-managed work teams

Milan Zafirovski

Professor (PhD 1999 Florida International)

Office: 397D Chilton Hall
Phone: 940-565-2190
zafirovski@unt.edu

» UNT Faculty Profile
Research Interests: economic sociology, social stratification, political sociology, terrorism